Posted by: spacewritinguy | December 3, 2007

Jeremiads I

New game show: “Who Wants to Marry a U.S. Citizen.” Call it “The Dating Game” meets surreality TV. And, as Dave Barry would put it, I am not making this up.

I’m shocked, shocked to find that election fixing is going on here…Putin wins a landslide in Russia’s parliamentary elections.

The referendum in Venezuela looks like a close vote. Stay tuned.

A book character is renamed to avoid a row over its name, Mohammed. This, of course, surprises no one.

On a related note, the EU is attempting to pass a law that would make it a criminal offense to make racist or xenophobic statements. Does this mean I can’t tell my Polish grandfather’s Polack jokes if I visit? How boring.

Another change in senior management in the Constellation program.

Whups.

And yet again, the BCS Bowl Schedule makes no damn sense. I’d still appreciate a rational explanation why the existing “bowls” cannot be turned into playoff games. New traditions, same or better damned revenue for the communities! Don’t mind me, I’m just a transplanted SEC fan. I’m not supposed to understand the intricacies of bowl game politics.

Leave a Reply

Categories

