Posted by: spacewritinguy | December 8, 2008

Crisis of Conscience for a Space Conservative

So I’m in the process of writing a white paper to submit to Obama’s Change.gov web site, with the purpose of said paper being to offer advice/input on what he should do with regard to space. About 1/3 of the way through the document, I found myself having a crisis of conscience. The fear ran something like this:

  1. Suppose he takes the advice.
  2. Suppose the advice works.
  3. Suppose, as a result of the advice, the nation’s adventures in space become greater than anything done under Apollo.
  4. Suppose, as a result of those accomplishments, liberals and liberalism control the government for the next 40 years, as they did from 1952 to 1994.

It’s not like I have an exceedingly lofty view of my abilities–there are others in his administration holding similar pro-space views anyway–but jeez, what the hell would become of conservatism if this paper actually worked and had some impact???

One of the disadvantages of being trained in Sophistry (the ability to argue both sides of an issue with equal passion and ability) is that I occasionally end up in the uncomfortable position of undermining the beliefs I actually do have. Ouch. I guess it all comes down to whether I’m more loyal to my country than my party. And if I were to be fundamentally honest with myself, I’m an American first.

So I guess if it comes down to it, I’d rather see America succeed in space under a liberal than go nowhere under a conservative. So it goes.

Responses

  1. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Kate

    http://educationonline-101.com

    • Gracias! Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

Categories

